Happily moving forward

When recipes don’t go as planned…

Often, when I’m craving the comfort food of my childhood, I have a hard time finding a vegan recipe that sounds as good as the original. Which happened this weekend. 

Costco had organic squash and zuchinni at a fantastic price this weekend so I knew I needed to find a yummy way to use that up. Squash casserole it was. 

I pursued Pinterest but nothing struck me. I did a Google search – closer but nothing really. 

So I decided to veganize the yummiest looking recipe I could find and see how it came out. 

Sometimes it’s not always equal. 

Butter for Earth Balance butter – no problem. 

Cheddar for Vegan Gourmet Cheddar – no problem. 

Egg for Ener-g Egg Replacer – no problem. 

Milk for Unsweetend Vanilla Almond Milk – BIG PROBLEM. 

Unfortunately that was all the milk that I had on hand and so I used it. As I expected it changed the flavor of the dish from savory to a hint of sweet. And it wasn’t a hint I was looking for. It’s not terrible but it’s not the comfort food of my past. 

Lesson: milk matters. In the future I’m going to try to keep different milks on hand. I really like the packs that are shelf stable as it allows me to buy in bulk and keep different milks on hand. 

Until then, there’s a whole lot of casserole to be eaten. 

Leave a Reply

