Yummo!

Vegan chicken and rice casserole 

I really pride myself on recipe free cooking…I like to practice what I’ve learned so far and see if I can execute. This was the perfect opportunity to do that. 

In my house the hubs and doodlebug like to eat before 5:30. Which makes it super hard to cook a meal after work due to time. So I prepped everything last night and all I have to do when I get home is heat it in the oven. Voila! Dinner on time. 

The non-vegans in my house are noshing on a standard chicken and rice casserole with peas. I’m eating this: 

  • Prepared rice
  • Gardein chicken strips 
  • Peas
  • Quick fast cheesy-cream of anything soup replacement: mix one tablespoon vegan butter with one tablespoon flour. Wisk to cook the flour. Add vegan milk of your choice- about a cup or cup and a half. Stir till it thickens. Add nutritional yeast, salt and pepper. I added a few shreds of vegan mozzarella because why not? 

Basically I mixed all 4 parts together and I’m going to pop it in the oven. 

I’m sure this will be a recipe base I tweak going forward but I’ll let you know how it works out! 

Dinner was served and it was awesome! The flavor was on point. It wasn’t as cheesy/creamy as the non-vegan counterpart but it wasn’t dry either. I’ll save that mix for future and keep on tweaking it as needed. 

Happy kitchen exploration! 

Leave a Reply

