Yummo!

Bobbity bobbity …. Dinner?

Clearly all the princess party planning has clouded my mind and I can think of little else. Including planning what I was going to feed the family for dinner tonight.

Last night was a Southwest Vegan Mac and cheeze freezer meal that I thought would last two dinners but apparently we were hungry and it ended up being our dinner and my lunch.

So with a work meeting running much longer than it was supposed to – I ran out of the office determined to mentally meal prep on my way to pick up Doodlebug. She’s typically FAMISHED when we get home and moments saved are crucial. I have a feeling that you understand.

Ring…ring…(well phones don’t really do that anymore, but roll with me). Hello long lost friend! Yes, let’s chat all the way to daycare.

Enter the house. Mom panic sets in and I open the fridge hoping the Dinner Elves have passed. Bust.

Tofu – ok, we’re off to a good start so far.

Spinach – Doodlebug won’t touch it but let’s pull it out.

Three tortilla and leftover Naan – yeah, carbs!

Oh! Grilled red peppers and asparagus from two nights ago. That’s recent enough to be on tonight’s menu!

Let’s get cooking. I’m feeling good. I can make this happen!

Tofu – water sauté with homemade taco seasoning because I’m out of the ready made stuff. I pull up a Pinterest recipe for taco seasoning and being that I’m in a rush I find a picture and estimate measurements. Two parts this and one part of everything else. I think onion powder and garlic powder would be a bit much for Doodlebug so I skip the garlic powder. This is totally free form and I’m feeling it.

Turn on the music – Doodlebug dances and plays in the Keurig box that brought out K-cups of happiness this afternoon.

Returning to the task at hand I grab a can of black beans. I don’t know many people who don’t have an emergency can of black beans in the pantry. Put those rinsed beans aside.

Thinly slice asparagus and red peppers. Warm them in the pan that I sautéed the tofu in to pick up that “on the fly” taco seasoning.

Hello dinner! Doodlebug ate two tofu tacos! That is a winner in my book! My Man and I layered our tofu, beans and veggies on naan since Doodlebug only left us one tortilla – sweet love can have them all!

My man wasn’t impressed with my seasoning mix but I thought it did the trick.

Have you had to save the night with a quick fix dinner this week?

Leave a Reply

